A Uneed alternative with no queue, no launch date and no vote
Uneed is the launch board most founders reach for after Product Hunt, and it is the one that prints its numbers. If a launch day you can book is what you want, pay the $29.99 and pick the date.
If what you want is a position rather than a day, The Board lists a brand for a dollar, ranks it by what it paid, and leaves it there for as long as nobody pays more, with the traffic counted by Fathom in the open.
The Board is ours, so read this with that in mind. Every listing on it is a paid placement, its position is decided by money and by nothing else, and nothing on it is editorial. The figures for Uneed were read from its own pages on 6 September 2026 and are linked at the foot.
What Uneed is, and what it costs
Uneed is a daily launch board with weekly and yearly leaderboards, a newsletter and a do-follow link. Its pricing page claims 90,000 monthly visitors and 22,000 newsletter subscribers, which is more than most launch sites will say out loud.
The free waiting line closed to new products on 17 August 2026, because the wait had passed six months. What remains is paid: Fast-track at $14.99 for a slot Uneed picks about two weeks out, Skip the Line at $29.99 to choose the date, and a $15 relaunch. Guides written in the spring still call it free.
Rank on the day is by votes, and the day is the product: the front page moves on tomorrow and your listing goes with it.
The price of a place, and the price of the top
Two prices matter: what it costs to be on the page at all, and what it costs to be the one everybody sees first. Drawn to scale, with The Board’s top spot read live from the board.
A log scale: every gridline is ten times the last, which is the only way a dollar and a five-figure sum fit on one line. Prices on the left are Uneed’s as read on 6 September 2026; the top spot on The Board is $101 as this page was built and changes as the board does.
Uneed and The Board, side by side
| Question | Uneed | The Board |
|---|---|---|
| To be listed | $14.99 for a slot in about two weeks, $29.99 to pick the date; the free line is closed | $1, once, for a listing: a logo, a line and a link |
| What decides your rank | Votes on the day | What the listing has paid. Nothing else, and nobody decides |
| A guaranteed top position | Not sold; the date is bought, the rank is voted | $1 more than whoever holds rank 01 has paid |
| How long it lasts | The launch day; a $15 relaunch buys a second one | Until somebody pays more. Hold rank 01 for 30 days and the season is yours: the standings freeze on a permanent page and every amount resets |
| Reach you can verify | Claims 90,000 monthly visitors and 22,000 subscribers; no per-launch figure and no third-party counter | Page views and outbound clicks counted by Fathom on a public dashboard; every listing shows its own impressions and clicks |
| Refunds | Not stated on the pricing page | None. Every payment is final and the terms (dated 25 August 2026) say so |
| Who you are dealing with | Uneed, an established launch board with a pricing page and a blog | Dustin W. Stout, Bakersfield, California. Stripe, with a public Stripe profile |
| Best for | An indie SaaS or AI tool that wants a launch date it can plan around | A brand that wants a standing position rather than a day, priced by itself |
Eight things to know before you pay either
| Question | Uneed | The Board |
|---|---|---|
| Terms with a date on them | ✓ A pricing page and a blog | ✓ Dated 25 August 2026 |
| A named operator | ✓ Uneed | ✓ Dustin W. Stout, with a city and a Stripe profile |
| The price of the top spot published | ✕ Rank is voted; the date is what is sold | ✓ On the board, live, to the dollar |
| Reach counted by a third party | ✕ Its own figure, 90,000 a month, site-wide | ✓ Fathom, on a public dashboard |
| Position lasts past a day | ✕ The launch day | ✓ Until somebody pays more; seasons end it |
| A refund path | ✕ Not stated on the pricing page | ✕ None. Every payment is final |
| No curator between you and the page | ✓ A paid slot, no curator | ✓ None. Money decides, nobody else |
| On the page for a dollar | ✕ $14.99 | ✓ $1, once |
How The Board works, for somebody leaving Uneed
Uneed sells a day; The Board sells a place. A dollar lists a brand, the board ranks it by what it paid, and it stays there until somebody pays more, with no midnight and no relaunch fee. Rank 01 is a dollar over whoever holds it, and every amount is on the page.
There are no votes to bring. What there is instead is a season: hold the top for thirty days and the standings freeze on a permanent page, every amount resets, and the board starts again with every brand still on it. Fathom counts the page views and outbound clicks and the dashboard is public, so Uneed's monthly figure and The Board's can be read side by side by anyone.
Where Uneed falls short, and where it wins
- There is no free door any more, and the paid one buys a date, not a rank. The rank is still a vote.
- The visitor figure is Uneed's own and it is monthly for the whole site. What one launch gets on one day is not published.
- The attention lasts a day. A relaunch is another fifteen dollars and another day.
- It publishes an audience figure, which most launch boards do not, and it is a large one.
- A booked date is a real product for a team that has a launch to coordinate.
- The do-follow link and the newsletter placement outlive the day.
Which to pick
- You are running a launch week and need a date that lines up with the rest of it.
- Votes are something you can bring, and a leaderboard finish is worth having.
- You want the link and the newsletter mention as much as the visitors.
- You want to be on a page today, not in two weeks.
- You want the position to last until somebody pays more, not until midnight.
- You want the reach counted by somebody who does not sell the slot.
A listing is a logo, a line and a link. Rank 01 costs $1 more than whoever holds it, every amount on the page is public, and the traffic is on a Fathom dashboard anyone can open.
Questions people ask about a Uneed alternative
Is Uneed still free?
Is there a free Uneed alternative?
Is The Board a Uneed alternative?
What does The Board cost compared to Uneed?
Which sends more visitors?
Does a dollar on The Board get me seen at all?
What if I only want a launch day?
How does Uneed's relaunch compare with raising on The Board?
Is buying a rank bad for a brand?
Sources
- Uneed pricing, 6 Sep 2026
- Uneed blog, closing the free waiting line, 17 Aug 2026
Read on 6 September 2026. Prices on these sites move, and a figure here that no longer matches its source is a figure to tell us about: hello@toptheboard.com.
Also compared: Product Hunt, BetaList, Peerlist Launchpad, Fazier, Microlaunch, Dev Hunt, LaunchIgniter, Tiny Startups, BetaPage. Every listing site worth submitting to is in the directory list.