A Tiny Startups alternative where the pay-to-rank board has a dollar floor, a stated end and a counter you can check
Tiny Startups is two boards under one name. If you want a free weekly launch with a lifetime listing page and a link at the end of it, submit to the launchpad and wait for a Monday. If you want to pay for a rank today, its Spotlight board sells exactly that from $49, with every amount public and a newsletter behind it that the site says 20,000 people read.
If you want the pay-to-rank mechanic with a floor of a dollar, a stated life for the position, a rule for how the season ends and a traffic count kept by somebody else, that is what The Board is.
The Board is ours, so read this with that in mind. Every listing on it is a paid placement, its position is decided by money and by nothing else, and nothing on it is editorial. The figures for Tiny Startups were read from its own pages on 6 September 2026 and are linked at the foot.
What Tiny Startups is, and what it costs
Tiny Startups runs two things at one address. The home page is the Spotlight board: pay what you want, minimum $49 in whole dollars, and the more you pay the higher you rank, with no upvotes and the amounts printed beside each listing. The about page and /launch describe the older one, a free weekly launchpad ranked by upvotes from Monday to Sunday, where the top two each week earn a Product of the Week badge and every entry keeps a lifetime listing page. Startup of the Day is a third thing: one hand-picked product, changed at midnight UTC.
On 6 September 2026 the Spotlight's top nine read $250 down to $129, with 62 more below, and passing the top was offered at $260. Launching on the weekly board is free after a review queue with no stated wait; Skip the queue is $29 on the about page and $99 in the terms (effective 2 May 2026), read the same day, and the terms also list a $99 do-follow link, a $129 newsletter feature, $199 for four partner links and a $299-a-year membership. A tool listing and a deal listing are $49 each. All sales are final; a rejected listing is credited, not refunded.
The reach is self-reported and the pages disagree: 25,000+ newsletter readers on the home page, 20,000+ on the about page, 10,000+ a day on the advertising page. launchdirectories.com's estimate, updated 5 September 2026, was 31 monthly visits, which is a different kind of number and a long way from any of the three. How long a Spotlight spot lasts is not stated anywhere on the site, and there is no season and no reset rule.
The price of a place, and the price of the top
Two prices matter: what it costs to be on the page at all, and what it costs to be the one everybody sees first. Drawn to scale, with The Board’s top spot read live from the board.
A log scale: every gridline is ten times the last, which is the only way a dollar and a five-figure sum fit on one line. Prices on the left are Tiny Startups’s as read on 6 September 2026; the top spot on The Board is $101 as this page was built and changes as the board does.
Tiny Startups and The Board, side by side
| Question | Tiny Startups | The Board |
|---|---|---|
| To be listed | Free on the weekly launchpad after a review; $49 minimum on the Spotlight board | $1, once, for a listing: a logo, a line and a link |
| What decides your rank | Money on the Spotlight; upvotes on the weekly launchpad; an editor's pick for Startup of the Day | What the listing has paid. Nothing else, and nobody decides |
| A guaranteed top position | Spotlight rank 01 goes to the highest bid: $250 held it on 6 Sep 2026, $260 to pass | $1 more than whoever holds rank 01 has paid |
| How long it lasts | Spotlight: not stated, and no season. Launchpad: Monday to Sunday, then a lifetime listing page | Until somebody pays more. Hold rank 01 for 30 days and the season is yours: the standings freeze on a permanent page and every amount resets |
| Reach you can verify | Its own: 20,000+ or 25,000+ subscribers depending on the page; clicks shown per Spotlight listing | Page views and outbound clicks counted by Fathom on a public dashboard; every listing shows its own impressions and clicks |
| Refunds | None. All sales final, no chargebacks; a rejected listing is credited (terms, 2 May 2026) | None. Every payment is final and the terms (dated 25 August 2026) say so |
| Who you are dealing with | Tiny Startup Studio, by Jaisal; English law, no registered name or address; Stripe | Dustin W. Stout, Bakersfield, California. Stripe, with a public Stripe profile |
| Best for | A founder who wants a free launch week with a link, or a $49 rank on a small pay-to-rank board with a newsletter behind it | A brand that wants the pay-to-rank mechanic from a dollar, with an end rule and a counter it can check |
Eight things to know before you pay either
| Question | Tiny Startups | The Board |
|---|---|---|
| Terms with a date on them | ✓ Effective 2 May 2026 | ✓ Dated 25 August 2026 |
| A named operator | ✓ Tiny Startup Studio, by Jaisal; English law, no address | ✓ Dustin W. Stout, with a city and a Stripe profile |
| The price of the top spot published | ✓ Spotlight top was $250 on 6 Sep 2026, $260 to pass it | ✓ On the board, live, to the dollar |
| Reach counted by a third party | ✕ Its own figures, 20,000 to 25,000, and they disagree | ✓ Fathom, on a public dashboard |
| Position lasts past a day | ✓ Spotlight states no end; a launch week is seven days | ✓ Until somebody pays more; seasons end it |
| A refund path | ✕ None; a rejected listing gets credit, not cash | ✕ None. Every payment is final |
| No curator between you and the page | ✓ Spotlight lists at once; free launches enter a review queue | ✓ None. Money decides, nobody else |
| On the page for a dollar | ✓ Free on the weekly launchpad; the Spotlight starts at $49 | ✓ $1, once |
How The Board works, for somebody leaving Tiny Startups
If you have looked at the Spotlight you already know the mechanic: pay, and the amount is the rank. The Board runs the same rule with three things written down that the Spotlight leaves out. The floor is a dollar rather than $49. Rank 01 costs a dollar over the holder, not ten. And the position has a stated life: it lasts until somebody pays more, and a season ends when one brand has held the top for thirty days, at which point the standings freeze on a permanent page and every amount resets.
There is no second board with a different rule. No weekly launchpad, no upvotes, no editor's pick of the day: one page where every listing is a paid placement and the page says so. Every amount is public, as on the Spotlight, and so is the traffic. Fathom counts the page views and outbound clicks on a dashboard the site cannot edit, so the number you are buying against is not the seller's.
Where Tiny Startups falls short, and where it wins
- How long a Spotlight spot lasts is not on the page, and there is no season: the ladder has no end and no reset, so the floor only rises.
- The two boards run on opposite rules and the terms describe neither cleanly: the terms say rank is upvotes while the home page sells it for money, and Skip the queue is $29 on one page and $99 on another.
- The reach figures are its own and they disagree by page, and the only outside estimate on record is 31 visits a month.
- It prints the amounts. Every Spotlight listing shows what it paid and how many clicks it got, which is more than most launch sites show.
- The free weekly launchpad is still free, with a lifetime listing page and a link, and a $29 skip if the wait is too long.
- The newsletter is a real second channel, whatever the exact count, and a newsletter feature is priced rather than promised.
Which to pick
- You want a free launch week with a listing page and a link, and can wait for a Monday.
- You want a paid rank with a newsletter behind it, and $49 is fine as a floor.
- You care about the do-follow link, which The Board does not sell.
- You want the pay-to-rank mechanic from a dollar, not from $49.
- You want to know how long the position lasts and how the season ends, in writing.
- You want the traffic counted by somebody who is not selling the spot.
A listing is a logo, a line and a link. Rank 01 costs $1 more than whoever holds it, every amount on the page is public, and the traffic is on a Fathom dashboard anyone can open.
Questions people ask about a Tiny Startups alternative
Is there a free Tiny Startups alternative?
Is The Board a Tiny Startups alternative?
What does The Board cost compared to Tiny Startups?
How much does it cost to be number one on Tiny Startups?
How long does a Tiny Startups Spotlight spot last?
Is Tiny Startups worth it?
What happens when somebody outbids me?
Can other brands damage my listing?
Do I get a backlink from The Board?
Sources
- Tiny Startups home, the Spotlight board, 6 Sep 2026
- Tiny Startups about, 6 Sep 2026
- Tiny Startups launchpad, 6 Sep 2026
- Tiny Startups membership, 6 Sep 2026
- Tiny Startups advertise, 6 Sep 2026
- Tiny Startups terms, effective 2 May 2026
- launchdirectories.com on Tiny Startups, updated 5 Sep 2026
Read on 6 September 2026. Prices on these sites move, and a figure here that no longer matches its source is a figure to tell us about: hello@toptheboard.com.
Also compared: Product Hunt, BetaList, Uneed, Peerlist Launchpad, Fazier, Microlaunch, Dev Hunt, LaunchIgniter, BetaPage. Every listing site worth submitting to is in the directory list.